Primary elections scheduled for Aug. 28


Viera-Suntree residents will have the opportunity to make their voices heard Aug. 28, when primary elections are held in the area.

All voters also will have their say in a pair of judicial races. Incumbent Melissa Souto is being challenged by Adam Pollack for Circuit Judge, Group 24 in the 18th Judicial Circuit with the winner earning the seat.

Voters also will have the opportunity to choose between three candidates for County Judge, Group 2 as Katie Jacobus, Rod Kernan and Anthony Mechachonis vie for the position.

A Republican primary will be held in the race for the District 4 County Commission seat with incumbent Curt Smith facing off against Trudie Infantini. The winner of that election will face off with Democrat Matthew Fleming in the general election.

Republicans who live in precincts 412, 425, 435 and 440 can vote in the District 51 state representative primary between Henry Parrish and Tyler Sirois. The winner will go up against Democrat Mike Blake.

All other registered GOP voters in Viera-Suntree can vote in the District 52 state representative race featuring incumbent Thad Altman against Matt Nye. Democrat Seeta Durjan Begui awaits the winner.

Registered Republicans that live in the northern portion of Viera also will be able to vote in a primary contest for the District 5 Canaveral Port Authority seat as Robyn Hattaway faces off with Malcolm “Mac” McLouth. The winner will oppose Democrat Maurice Boudreau in November.

Republicans will get to vote in the state senatorial primary featuring Gov. Rick Scott against Roque “Rocky” De La Fuente. The winner will square off against Democratic incumbent Bill Nelson in the fall.

The primary race to fill Scott’s gubernatorial spot is crowded with seven candidates from both the Democratic and Republican parties attempting to earn their respective party’s nominations.

The Democratic primary will feature Andrew Gillum, Gwen Graham, Jeff Greene, Chris King, Philip Levine, Alex “Lundy” Lundmark and John Wetherbee. Republicans will choose from one of seven candidates, including Don Baldauf, Ron DeSantis, Timothy Devine, Bob Langford, John Joseph Mercadante, Bruce Nathan, Adam Putnam and Bob White.

Democratic voters will decide between Sean Shaw and Ryan Torrens as their attorney general nominee, while GOP voters will choose either Ashley Moody or Frank White.

Republicans have four nominees for the position of Commissioner of Agriculture, including Matt Caldwell, Denise Grimsley, Mike McCalister and Baxter Troutman. Democratic voters will select one of a trio of candidates to be their nominee as Nicole “Nikki” Fried, Jeffrey Duane Porter and Roy David Walker all try to advance to the general election.

Early voting for the primaries will be held from Aug. 18 to 25. Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Aug. 28.

Those interested in more information and/or viewing sample ballots for their precincts should visit