Royster McLellan, Sperr in contention for 2018 Teacher of the Year


Connie Royster McLelland is a teacher at Manatee Elementary School. Michael Sperr is a teacher at Kennedy Middle School.

Viera Voice Cory Davis


Two teachers in the Viera/Suntree area are among six Brevard Public Schools teachers to be named finalists for the 2018 Teacher of the Year distinction.

Connie Royster McLellan of Manatee Elementary School and Michael Sperr of John F. Kennedy Middle School are being considered for the coveted honor.

Royster McLellan has spent 15 of her 21 years with Brevard Public Schools (BPS) at Manatee Elementary in Viera. The kindergarten teacher is passionate about recognizing and meeting the individual needs of students and providing them with opportunities to succeed.

McLellan also is the coordinator for the school’s photography club, leads charity projects and serves on many district committees.

Sperr has been a music educator at Kennedy Middle School in Rockledge for seven years and a BPS teacher for 10 years. He has led his school’s ensembles to earn multiple superior assessment ratings and increased the amount of students participating in Brevard All-County Band from three to 18.

Sperr has served on several district curriculum-writing teams as well as leadership teams that foster excellence in new teachers.

The other four finalists are Amanda Howell of Oak Park Elementary School; Brandon T. Jenkins of Heritage High School; Kristina Latraverse of Columbia Elementary School; and Amy Teed of Jackson Middle School.

The finalists were selected out of 90 candidates by a panel of judges comprising of principals and teachers from all over the county.

The candidates were measured against a rigorous set of criteria that includes teaching philosophy and practice, leadership, professional development and parental engagement in the learning process.

The 2018 BPS Teacher of the Year will be chosen by a committee of education and civic leaders and will be announced at the Applauding Brevard’s Champions (ABC) Awards Gala on Jan. 24, hosted by the Brevard Schools Foundation.

Community Credit Union is the premier sponsor of the event, which will be held at the King Center for the Performing Arts in Melbourne.