New board settles in for Viera East Men's Golf Association


The Viera East Men's Golf Association has elected a new board of directors.



The new Viera East Men’s Golf Association Board of Directors has officially started the 2017-2018 golf season at the Viera East Golf Course.

The board consists of Craig Smith, president; David Hill, vice president; William Oakley, treasurer; and Tim Brown, secretary. A new board position was created for Mike Schmitt, who will be the tournament director.

Now that the winter golf season is in full swing, I have noticed how my own golf game can vary from shot to to shot. As a relatively new retiree at the age of 60, my game has not improved as much as I had hoped.

Many of my older golfing buddies from VEMA have enviable short games that I can only dream about. I have learned the simple truth that practicing putting and chipping is the quickest and most effective way to improve a golf score.

November and December provided our golf group with some nice weather and a return to competition.

The VEMA Cup was played over two days in November. The first round consisted of two-man teams playing a scramble format. The second round was a best-ball format. There were two flights.

The team of John McComas and Freddie Baltazar won the first flight. Peter Maloney and Bob David placed second, and Tim Brown and Schmitt were third.

The team of Neil Napolitano and Steve Vasilevich won the second flight. David Hill and Gary Baxter were second, and Gary Waldron, Tom Campbell and Dale Zeigler finished third.

Jack Webb on No. 4, Greg Humble on No. 7, Bob David on No. 13 and Keith Rodriguez on No. 16 were closest-to-the-pin.

VEMA has changed the format for the club championship, with the top 12 golfers competing in a two-round event for the trophy. To qualify, members must post one of the 12 best rounds for 18 holes to reach the championship flight

Qualifying began with rounds starting in October. Eligible rounds will continue through Feb. 1. The club championship will begin
Feb. 15, with a final round on Feb. 22 to determine the VEMA Club Champion.

Guy Sullivan, McComas, Maloney, Tim Brown, Jim Smith, Bob Urban, Steve Wing, Gary Shiffrin, Webb, Craig Smith, Fred Bogle and Bill Scholtens are leading so far in qualifying.

The Viera East Men’s Golf Association wishes everyone a Happy New Year.