Troop 224 recognized at county commission meeting


Commissioner Curt Smith, left, honored Alex Page, Matthew Rahmes, Connor Smoak, Kevin Howald, Luke Spenik, Sam Scheinbart and Jonathan Copeland of Boy Scouts Troop 224.

Boy Scouts Troop 224, based at Suntree United Methodist Church, was recently recognized at a Brevard County Commission meeting.

Sixty-two members have achieved the Eagle Scout rank since the troop's inception in 1995.

This is the latest honor for the troop in a year of commendations, including the Blue Ribbon Status for four years in a row, the Excellence in Training Award and The Gold Journey to Excellence Award.

Scoutmaster Kevin Howald was also recently named Scoutmaster of the Year for the Challenger District 2015.

Jeff Sweet was named Charter Organization Representative of the Year for the Challenger District 2015-Suntree United Methodist Church liaison for the Troop and Pack 224.

Troop 224 has 40 boys ages 11 to 17.

For more information on membership, email