Brevard Public Schools is home to 26 Schools of Excellence


Jill Blue Gaines

The Florida Department of Education named 26 Brevard County schools as Schools of Excellence.

To receive the designation, a school must receive an A or B grade in each of the past three years. They also must be in the 80th percentile or higher for possible points earned in its school-grade calculation for at least two of the last three school years. Schools retain the designation for up to three years, and can apply for renewal after that time.

The Schools of Excellence Program provides administrative flexibility to the state’s top schools so instructional personnel and administrative staff can continue to serve their communities and increase student-learning to the best of their professional ability.

For example, principals control instructional personnel selection and can deploy financial resources to school programs. Schools of Excellence are not limited to operating hours set by the school district, and have flexibility with class size, as well. Also, instructional personnel can earn 20 in-service points for each school year of employment up to 60 points in a five-year cycle.

Brevard Public Schools’ honorees are:

Combination Schools:

Viera Charter School

West Shore Jr./Sr. High

Edgewood Jr./Sr. High

Cocoa Beach Jr./Sr. High

Elementary Schools:

Pinewood Elementary

Challenger 7 Elementary

Ralph M. Williams, Jr. Elementary

Manatee Elementary

W. Melbourne Elementary School for Science

Suntree Elementary

Longleaf Elementary

Quest Elementary

Tropical Elementary

Robert L. Stevenson Elementary

Lewis Carroll Elementary

Theodore Roosevelt Elementary

Freedom 7 Elementary School of International Studies

Spessard L. Holland Elementary

Surfside Elementary

Ocean Breeze Elementary

Indialantic Elementary

Gemini Elementary

Middle Schools:

John F. Kennedy Middle

DeLaura Middle

High Schools:

Viera High 

Satellite Senior High 

Edit ModuleShow Tags

Viera Event Calendar

Edit ModuleShow Tags Edit ModuleShow Tags