MOAA-CC honors Military Academy Appointments and ROTC scholarship recipients


Seventeen ROTC students and academy appointees from around Brevard were honored at the MOAA luncheon at Indian River Colony Club in Viera.

Photo Jill Blue Gaines

Military Officers Association of America Cape Canaveral Chapter
recognized Brevard County students who this year received
appointments to military academies and ROTC college scholarships.
Seventeen ROTC students from around the county were honored at a
luncheon held by MOAACC May 15 at Indian River Colony Club in
Viera. The students, well rounded in their high school paths, were
praised by MOAACC officials as future leaders.

Seven of the students were from Viera High School, where retired Army
Lt. Col. Tim Thomas is the senior instructor in the JROTC program.
“We’re very proud of them,” Thomas said. “I’m very proud of their
accomplishments, as we are for all of the cadets, all 17 cadets that were
here. Even though they might not have been from our school we’re
proud of their accomplishments, and we thank MOAACC for sponsoring
this event.”

Students are headed to the U.S. Military Academy, U.S. Air Force
Academy as well as colleges with Reserve Officer Training Corps. The
students will major in studies that include aeronautical engineering,
chemical engineering, aerospace engineering, premedical and veterinary
Space Coast High scholarship earner:
Logan Lawhorn  – Air Force ROTC, University of Central Florida
Rockledge High School scholarship earner:
Carlos Penrod — Army ROTC, Stetson University
Viera High School scholarship earners:
Drake Vaske — Army ROTC, University of San Francisco
Aniya Cosby — Air Force Academy Prep School
Andrew Scougall — Air Force ROTC, University of Florida
Lexi Ewing — Army ROTC, University of Florida
Joseph Avery-Dipolito — Army ROTC, University of Florida
Brandon Mays — Military Prep School
Jordan Kaplan — Air Force Academy
Merritt Island High School scholarship earners honored:
Nick Hensley— Army ROTC, ERAU
Darren Higgins — Army ROTC, ERAU
Jordan Krueger — Army ROTC, Stetson University
Shania Rodriquez — Army ROTC, Georgia Military College
Laryssa Mellendez — Army ROTC, Georgia Military College
Charlie Meholic — Army ROTC, ERAU
Morgan Scott — Air Force ROTC, University of Florida
Kyle Dentmon — Air Force Academy
See additional photos of the MOAA Luncheon Ceremony at MOAA photo gallery.
MOAA appointees and scholarship recipients not pictured in the photo:
Amber Carden, Air Force ROTC, University of Florida
Levi Berry — Navy ROTC, University of Washington
Wesley Hacker — U.S. Military Academy
Hannah Howe — Coast Guard Academy Prep School
Matthew Mizell — U.S. Merchant Marine Academy
David Nail — Army ROTC, Marion Military Institute
Ryan Pletcher — U.S. Merchant Marine Academy
Molly Redito — U.S. Naval Academy
Alexis Villanueva — U.S. Military Academy
Justin Yates — U.S. Air Force Academy
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Viera Event Calendar

Edit ModuleShow Tags Edit ModuleShow Tags