Space Coast United enjoys record-breaking season


Members of the Space Coast United 2001 Girls Red Team pose for a photo while taking part in the Southern Regionals in Baton Rouge, Louisiana.

Courtesy Space Coast United Soccer

The Space Coast United Soccer program has always had a long history of success.

But never anything like this.

After having six teams win Florida Cup championships earlier this summer, the SCU has sent seven teams on to play in national tournaments throughout the country.

“The club has had tremendous success in the 2018-2019 (season),” said Scott Armstrong, the Space Coast United Soccer Club's executive director of coaching in a statement. “We have broken all records and created a great learning and development environment. Space Coast United has become a well-known, state-wide program and well respected. The success is across all age brackets, which reflects the development and the goal of creating a program that represents a positive environment for kids to learn and play and achieve their goals.”

Here’s a look at how some of the SCU’s top teams did this season:

SCU Girls 2001 Red Team

Although it lost the FYSA State Cup final on penalty kicks, the team was later invited to play in the USYS Southern Regionals in Baton Rouge, Louisiana.

The team impressively made it to the quarterfinals, beating the Georgia state champion and tying the Tennessee state champs.

Team members included: Olivia Colombo; Jessica DeBiasse; Danielle Dudley; Kailey Dunne; Kaitlyn Duron; Francesca Espinoza; Megan Furfey; Allyn Jamie; Mary McCaleb; Therese McCaleb: Melia Miller; Jessica Newton; Carter Register; Kylie Roach; Abigail Rolling; Isabella Ruggiano; Carolina Santos; Payton Yates and Amanda Zaroogian.

SCU 2002 Girls Red Team

After coming in second in the Girls Florida National Premier League (NPL), this team was invited to play in the NPL Girls Finals in Colorado and even played in a higher age bracket.

Team members included: Amelia Anello; Kira Anzalone; Caroline Boston; Madisin Cicchetti; Ashley Deskins; Grace Hanks; Lena Hatter; Charlotte Irvin; Mallory Jost; Nina Kaufmann; Abigayle Richard; Madelyn Rosario; Jordan Spira; Amanda Vitaliano and Johanna Webb.

SCU 2003 Girls Red Team

The Florida Cup champions took part in the US Club 2019 National Cup XVIII Finals in Colorado.

Team members included: Chloe Adams; Madison Ainbinder; Ollie Anderson; Rachel Baleto; Abbey Cairns; Adrianne Gutman; Logan Humbert; Arianna Kyramarios-Wall; Jessica Martin; Piper McHenry; Julia McNatt; Savannah Oxley; Vanessa Paiement; Emma Pruett; Reese Pulliam; Aislin Scully; Emily Tizol; Ariana Valentin; Kaley Vitaliano; Victoria Wehner; Kyla Williams; Allison Worley and Serena Zarzana.

SCU 2001 Boys Red Team

This SCU boys team won the Florida NPL title and moved on to play in the NPL Finals in Illinois.

Team members included: Stephen McHale; Daniel Meza; Markus Mills; Kia Mohajeri; Osayamon Osaro; Rhys Rittgers; Uvaldo Rodriguez; Bruce Smith; Jack Smoak; John Stromenger; Reed Zipperer; Ronnie Hill; John Eaton; Dylan Black; Dylan Baraket; Mads Jensen; Sawyer Davidson; Matt Kowlessor; Nate Brooker; Ollie Dunkin and Cooper Bywater.

SCU Boys 2006 Red Team

The Florida Cup champions moved on to play in the US Club 2019 National Cup XVIII Finals in Colorado Team members included: Majed Abdullah; Jack Boardman; Landon Campos; Ethan Castes; Mason Facemyer; Jack Girard; Matthew Janke; Mikkel Jensen; Christian Lewis; Marcel Lorente; Matthew Murtha; Parker Rathjen; Blake Siviter; Gunnar Trout and Jonah Vignier.

SCU 2004 Boys Red Team

After winning the Florida Cup, this team moved on to play in the US Club 2019 National Cup XVIII in Colorado.

Team members included: Logan Collins; Kevin Cubbilos; Conner Floyd; Christian Guirgis; Cole Hancock; Chase Jansen; Van McCaleb; Yohann Moise; Joe Peri; Diego Sanders; Sammy Son; Noah Spaulding; Logan Supernaw; Yordan Torres; Yorgen Torres; Daniel Viegas and Jacob Woods.

SCU 2000 Boys Red Team

This group won the FYSA State Cup Championship, beating the top three ranked teams in Florida along the way, and went on to play in the USYS Southern Regionals in Baton Rouge.

Team members included: Mark Alcorn; Christian Becerra Lovera; James Brennan; Nathaniel Campbell; David Colbert; Daniel Erb; Kyle Ferguson; Chase Hester; Ian Leighton; James Leonard; Mario Licor; Nicholas Lockridge; Daniel Lynch; John Micallef; Robbie Murtha; Reginald Nicolas; Elio Ortiz; Benjamin Pena; Paris Ragan; Britt Reisman; Collin Robidoux; Richard Willams and Cameron Yeutter.  VV